Parish Lay Leadership

St. Mary of the Hills Parish has two councils or committees made up of parishioners to guide and assist the pastor in leadership and planning.

The Parish Pastoral Council:

“It is highly desirable that in every diocese a special pastoral council be established, presided over by the diocesan bishop himself, in which clergy, religious, and laity specially chosen for the purpose will participate. It will be the function of this council to investigate and consider matters relating to pastoral activity and to formulate practical conclusions concerning them.” (no. 27, p. 580) from the Vatican II Decree on the Pastoral Office of Bishops in the Church

Harry Feldmann
Dorothy Lovett
Kevin Martin
Sonia Diaz
Walter White
William O'Brien
William O'Connell
Lorraine Tower, Chair

The Parish Finance Committee:

Canon 537 of the Catholic Church states that in each parish there is to be a finance council to help the parish priest in the administration of the goods of the parish.  Parishioners with financial experience serve as an important advisory committee to the pastor, who is ultimately responsible for the temporal goods of the parish.

Virginia Hannigan
James Holland
Janice Powell